Failing Forward

Failing Forward by John C. Maxwell

Failing forward is a book authored by John C. Maxwell.  It is a “study” in how to turn mistakes and failures into stepping stones for success. John outlines the 15 steps to Failing Forward.

  1. Realizing there is one major difference between average people and achieving people;
  2. Learn a new definition of failure;
  3. Remove the you from failure;
  4. Take action and reduce your fear;
  5. Change your response to failure by accepting responsibility;
  6. Don’t let the failure from outside get inside you;
  7. Say good-bye to yesterday;
  8. Change yourself and your world changes;
  9. Get over yourself and start giving yourself;
  10. Find the benefit in every bad experience;
  11. If at first you do succeed, try something harder:
  12. Learn from a bad experience and make it a good experience:
  13. Work on the weakness that weakens you:
  14. Understand there’s not much difference between failure and success;
  15. Get up, get over it , get going;

Each chapter is devoted to a step. John Maxwell breaks each step down into its essential elements, providing definitions and examples of each. He also goes on to articulate the practical steps in mastering each step along with real world benefits of those steps once mastered. Each chapter is also filled with stories from both everyday folks and famous folks who have used these steps to achieve that we all define a success.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.